Hey there. So there is this trend of typical “Day in my Life” content going around. I love seeing other people’s daily routines! Although it’s nosy, although it’s the same thing day-in and day-out for that person, it gives an insight to how unique and different each of our lives are. I’ve probably seen a million of these and I so love it. So I decided to share mine too.

I now live in Belgium for around 2.5 years. I’m an only child and admittedly spoiled at that. I have never realized it takes so much effort to simply keep life going day-to-day. Kudos to all who get this done. Now I’m accustomed to the daily routine of living alone, but some days are more productive than others. You’ll see 😀

My typical day has drastically changed this year, considering I started a new job. My old workplace in Mechelen,Belgium is close to where I live and a 9min walk away. Now I have to take the bus & train for my daily commute.

6:00am

My typical day in my life starts off by Alexa waking me up at 6:00am. To which I kindly yell back in response, “Alexa, snooze!”. She comes back at me 10mins later. Two to three snoozes later, I’m pretty awake.

6:30am

By this time, my mom is probably texting me “good morning”. She starts ringing me if she doesn’t get the blue tick by 6:30am 😛 She is in India and the time difference is 4.5 hours. It’s almost noon for her back home.

Sunrise in winters are around 7:30am. It’s getting bright earlier now, but it’s still fairly cold and dark.

7:00am

It’s around 7am when I make my bed, turn on my heater and go to shower and get ready.

I just make coffee, gulp it at one go and rush down for the bus, which is luckily right in-front of my apartment.

8:00am

De-lijn (bus service company) in Belgium is not great in coming on-time. But these morning buses are mostly on-time. If the bus doesn’t screw-up or get stuck in morning traffic, I can catch my 8:15 train to Brussels.

I read during my commute, I always have a physical copy with me.

8:30am

I reach Brussels around 8:30am. Sometimes I grab I croissant at the Panos stall at the station and walk to work. Most days, I skip breakfast. Yikes.

It’s just a 6 minute walk to my workplace. 4mins if I really push it 😛

8:40am

I’m in my work place.

Most days we go out to get lunch at noon – which is a habit I try to avoid spending money on. But my workplace is so close to the city centre and there are abundant choices to choose from.

I’m an IT Analyst, it’s 80% work and 20% meetings most days and I’m ok with that ratio.

6:00pm

I leave from my workplace, hop on the train and catch the bus and end up home.

I don’t do the bulk weekly grocery shopping, so I stop by the supermarket and get stuff I need to cook dinner and get home around 7pm.

After this, I call my mom to catch-up. Later, it’s pretty random. One of the below happens:

  1. Somedays I just make coffee, eat the bag of chips I just bought at the supermarket and binge-watch series on Netflix way past midnight.
  2. Somedays I unpack my groceries, start cooking – pasta, sphagetti or a curry and wrap to go with it. I eat my dinner around 9pm. Then I read a book as I try to avoid screens an hour before I sleep.
  3. Somedays I finish dinner, edit my YouTube vlog or write a blog post.Then I read a book till I doze off – this is by far the most healthiest option I’m aware.

I actually do enjoy cooking, shots from recent evenings below..

Repeat till I yell at Alexa. 🙂

Cheers,

Sharu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

%d bloggers like this: